Valley View - Applause 06/18/18

  • Written by Valley View Staff
Northwest Farm Credit Services has awarded 84 students from its five-state territory a total of $168,000 in scholarships. Zarah Khan from Carnation was awarded $2,000 to attend the University of Washington.

Applause - 6/11/18

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
MathewMathew ThompsonMatthew Thompson of Woodinville has been named a 2018 Montana State University presidential scholar, MSU’s most prestigious scholarship.  He is among 23 across the nation to receive the award.
Thompson is the valedictorian from Woodinville High School. He intends to major in chemical engineering and minor in materials science. Thompson is an AP scholar with distinction and is a member of the National Honor Society and Spanish Honor Society. He also has received best delegate awards for his involvement in Model United Nations at conferences in Seattle and Vancouver, British Columbia. Thompson has been an active member of orchestra and chamber orchestra as principal cellist. He is the son of Patrick and Cary Thompson of Woodinville.
Baylor University (Waco, Texas) named the following local Woodinville students to the Dean’s Academic Honor List for the 2018 spring semester:
Erin Rachelle Keith, School of Music
Meghan J McCahill, Hankamer School of Business
Marshall Hobson-Ritz of Kenmore graduated from Cornell College (Mount Vernon, IA) on May 13th. 
Max Massey Larson of Woodinville graduated from Bowdoin College (Brunswick, Maine) with a major in mathematics and government and legal studies.
Emily Burns of Bothell graduated from Knox College (Galesburg, IL).  She majored in Chemistry with a minor in Biochemistry/Creative Writing.
The following local students will graduate from Oregon State University (Corvallis, Ore.) on June 16th:
Bothell - Nattapat P. Chutipanyaporn, BS in Construction Engineering Management; Casey R. Gosselin, BS in Environmental Sciences; James A. Moran, BS in Chemical Engineering; Trevor D. Peterson, BS in Psychology (Cum Laude)
Kenmore - Tessa Alger, BS in Merchandising Management (Summa Cum Laude)
Woodinville - Danielle M. Allen, BS in Natural Resources
The following local students graduated from the University of San Diego (San Diego, Calif.) on May 27.
Ellen McCaw of Bothell earned a bachelor’s degree in Accountancy.  She graduated magna cum laude.
Bryce Wimberly of Woodinville earned a bachelor’s degree in Mathematics.

Applause - June 4, 2018

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Cedarville University (Cedarville, OH) students Katherine Adair of Woodinville and Rachel Bragg of Bothell achieved the Dean’s List for the 2018 spring semester.
Zachary Paulsen of Woodinville  has been named to the Champlain College (Burlington, VT) Dean’s List for the Spring 2018 semester.
Montana State University (Bozeman, MT) has announced its undergraduate honor rolls for the spring semester 2018.  The following local resident’s have received the honor:
From Bothell: Melissa Adolfson, Clara Andrews, Austin Davis, Liam O’Rourke, Brenna Robert
From Kenmore: Julia Houghton
From Woodinville: Daniel Bachler, Sam Bedell, Markelle Felt, Catherine Fernandez, Rachel Kepl, Taylor Ray
Annalise Schweickart of Woodinville graduated from Harvey Mudd College (Claremont, Calif.) with a bachelor of science degree with a major in mathematics and computation biology and French, graduating with high distinction and departmental honors in biology.
Sponsorship award
Ted Rodriquez, an instructor at the Sno-Isle Tech Skills Center located in Everett, Washington has received an Educators Sponsorship Award for his promotion of Hydropower Education.  The sponsorship was awarded by Belzona Technology Washington LLC based in Woodinville, Washington.
Rodriquez who teaches Electrical Engineering at Sno-Isle Tech has included units on Hydropower Education as part of his curriculum.  Local businesses/organization such as Belzona Technology Washington LLC are given the opportunity to recognize educators through a sponsorship program created by RB-Manufacturing based in Bellingham, Washington.
Through the sponsorship, Mr. Rodriquez will be awarded a mini-hydropower generator known as the PowerWheel, a TAK kit that provides students the opportunity to build their own alternator as well as other teaching resources. Both teaching tools are manufactured by RB-Manufacturing.
Heritage Restaurant Opens
Heritage Restaurant | Bar hosted a Ribbon Cutting on May 22, 2018, with the help of City of Woodinville Deputy Mayor Elaine Cook and Woodinville Chamber Executive Director Dave Witt. The event was held for Heritage guests, members of the Woodinville Chamber and Woodinville community. The evening featured appetizers from their menu, a meet & greet with Chef Breanne Beike and more. Woodinville resident chef/owner Breanna Beike, along with husband Chris Brende, fashioned Heritage as a community hub and casual meeting place where residents gather often, tourists don’t feel like tourists, and the food and drinks are approachable and moderately priced. Learn more at:
Photo courtesy Richard Duvall, Woodinville Media Group

UW Bothell Cascadia College librarian receives award

  • Written by UW Bothell
Leslie Hurst of the University of Washington Bothell Cascadia College Library received the 2018 UW Distinguished Librarian award. It’s the first time a librarian from the Bothell campus has won the award, which was established in 2008.
Read more ...