Applause 07/31/17

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Gabrielle Hall, a recipient of the Greater Woodinville Chamber of Commerce Scholarship, recently graduated from Howard University with highest distinction and was also inducted into the nation’s oldest academic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa.

Hall was a member of the Woodinville High School Class of 2013. In recognition of her academic achievements, Howard designated Hall a Summa Cum Laude graduate during commencement ceremonies. “I really worked and prayed a lot to graduate with highest honors,” said Hall. “I realized freshman year that WHS prepared me well for college when a professor wrote me a note saying my work was at the level of a PhD candidate.”

In addition to class, Hall made time to intern in the office of Sen. Patty Murray, conduct research in Ghana, take advanced Spanish in Cuba and Barcelona, and perform at the White House for President Barack Obama as a member of the Howard Gospel Choir.

In the Fall, Hall will teach AP History in Virginia and plans to eventually pursue a doctorate in education.

Victoria Ili of Woodinville graduated from UW-Madison (Wisc.) in the College of Letters and Science, Bachelor of Arts, Social Welfare.

The following local residents have graduated from Rochester Institute of Technology (Rochester, New York):
Aliaksei Dzianisau of Bothell, who graduated with an MS in Networking and Systems Administration.
Derek Gutheil of Bothell, who graduated with a BS in Computer Engineering.

Matthew Spencer of Woodinville has earned his Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Journalism & Mass Comm from Whitworth University (Spokane, Wash.).  He graduated Summa Cum Laude.

Meg Dillard of Bothell has graduated from Hofstra University (Hempstead, New York) earning a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering .

Dean's List

Kelsey Brobeck of Bothell was named to the Spokane Falls Community College (Spokane, Wash.) honor roll.

Whitworth University in Spokane, Wash. announced the following Woodinville students to the spring honor roll: Courtney Ho, Matthew Meyer, Kelly Wucherer

The University of Kansas (Lawrence, Kansas) announced the following Woodinville students to the spring honor roll:  Katherine Englander-College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and Laura Loyet-College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

Wheaton College (Wheaton, Ill.) has named student-athlete Kayla Roberson of Woodinville to the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin (CCIW) Academic All-Conference Team.


The BECU Foundation awarded 80 BECU student members with $3,000 scholarships each towards their college education. The scholarships recognize and promote a student’s service in their school or community, leadership potential and academic achievement. Since the foundation’s inception in 1995, BECU has given more than $2 million in scholarships to more than 900 student members.

More than 1,000 students applied for the BECU Foundation scholarships and 80 were chosen based on grade point averages and community service work. Volunteer activities included science interpretation for the Pacific Science Center, mentoring students on a robotics team, teaching and mentoring elementary-aged children and providing food for teens and homeless youth.

The following local students received scholarships:
Emma Ledsham, Inglemoor High School
Megan Seibert, Bothell High School


Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter