The Woodinville Insider: Historical Gems In Our Own Backyard

  • Written by Shannon Michael, Woodinville Wine Country

Look around any community, and you’ll find local gems to visit, whether they are established, well-known businesses, or places steeped in history. Woodinville has many such gems.

Beginning with the Woodin family in 1871, many families soon settled the area once a railroad line was extended in 1888. By 1920, the region was dotted with dairy and produce farms, including the 200-acre Hollywood Farm, owned by Frederick Stimson.

07 24 12 1811

Stimson, a successful lumber baron, eventually expanded Hollywood Farm into a 600-acre enterprise that became one of America’s best dairy farms of its era. Located in the heart of the farm was a large Craftsman-styled house, built as a vacation home for the Stimson family.

That home, the Manor House, and the impeccably gardened grounds surrounding it, are part of what became Chateau Ste. Michelle Winery when it opened in 1976.

Chateau Ste. Michelle was the first winery to open in Woodinville. Almost 40 years later, more than 100 wineries and tasting rooms operate in Woodinville.

A couple of hundred yards east of the winery estate stands the historic Hollywood Schoolhouse, built in 1912. Today, it is a premier corporate and social events facility, and it houses a wine tasting room along with a collection of historical artifacts which can be viewed when events are not scheduled.

To learn more about the history of Woodinville, stop in at the Woodinville Heritage Museum, housed in the relocated home of early Woodinville residents John and Ellen DeYoung. The Dutch Colonial home was designated a city landmark in 2010 and is open the first Sunday of the month from 1 to 4 p.m.

Anchoring the downtown is historic Woodinville School, built in 1909. Now shuttered, it was the first brick building east of Lake Washington.

Next to the school is the Carol Edwards Center, named after the woman many refer to as the “Mother of Woodinville.” Edwards moved to Woodinville in June 1976 and was very active in the local community until succumbing to ALS in 2007. Edwards founded this weekly newspaper, The Woodinville Weekly. The Carol Edwards Center is used for recreation and activity programs.

Further east along 175th Street is Molbak’s Garden + Home, a garden and home improvement mecca. The Molbak family emigrated from Denmark to Woodinville in 1956, bringing with them a passion for gardening and a desire to turn that passion into a business and a destination.

WWC LOGO horiz withTag high-02

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter