Applause - Feb. 24, 2014

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Tanna Barnecut was announced 1st place winner in the Specialty Areas [Entertainment/Media/Game Rooms – Home Office/Dens] category of the 2013 Interior Design Society (IDS) Designer of the Year Awards on January 24, 2014 in Las Vegas. Hailed as a prestigious honor by IDS designers, the Designer of the Year Awards recognize outstanding achievement in residential interior design among Interior Design Society members.

Eleven-year-old award-winning chef Amber Kelley of Woodinville, U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and James Beard winner Maria Hines will host a cooking demonstration for kids at Wallingford Boys and Girls Club. The demonstrations will include new pea-and-lentil recipes that could be on more Washington state school menus under a new program created in the Farm Bill that passed Congress this month.

Kelley hosts "Cook With Amber," an online show focusing on healthy dishes. In 2013 Kelley visited the White House for the Kids’ State Dinner as the Washington state winner of First Lady Michelle Obama’s "Healthy Lunchtime Challenge" to promote healthy meals for kids.

The following local students were named to the dean’s list at Arizona State University:

Blake Barnard of Kenmore

Katie Glauner of Woodinville

Lindsey Goodwin of Woodinville

Stephanie Greenbaum of Woodinville

Jessika Kearns of Bothell

Ricardo Palomera of Bothell

Samantha Pell of Woodinville

Joseph Pruskowski of Woodinville

Spencer Rodewald of Woodinville

Katerina Estrada, a freshman at Bethel University in St. Paul, Minn., has been named to the dean’s list for academic excellence for the fall 2013 semester. Estrada is the daughter of Gary and Valentina Estrada from Woodinville.

Dean’s list recipients at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute include:

Nathanial Newman, of Bothell, who studies computer and systems engineering

Lars Olsson, of Woodinville, who studies computer and systems engineering

Emily Phillips, of Kenmore, who studies chemical engineering

The following Woodinville students made the Seattle Pacific University 2013 autumn quarter dean’s list:

Emily Ann Booth, Rachel Elizabeth Bulger, Brittany Keiko Geis, Eleah Anna Lovell, Kaitlyn Corinne Martin, Julia Caitlyn Olsby, Elena J Raney, Elisa Beth Raney, Emily Nicole Reid, Gail Alexandra Ricker, Alexander Gregory Sharp Rebekah Michelle Williams

Michael A. James of Woodinville has been named to the dean’s honor roll at Texas A&M University as a distinguished student (3.5-3.74 gpa). James is a junior majoring in aerospace engineering.

Drew Tosaya of Kenmore, first-year student in the computer engineering program in RIT’s Kate Gleason College of Engineering, made the dean’s list for the fall 2013 semester at Rochester Institute of Technology.

The following Whitworth University students have been named to the Whitworth University Laureate Society for fall semester 2013:

Jessie Cannon of Bothell

Craig Colegrove of Bothell

Erik Domas of Woodinville

Ryan Johnson of Woodinville

Mary Lovett of Bothell

James Meyer of Woodinville

Oliver Rudnicki of Woodinville

Matthew Spencer of Woodinville

Chad Thomas of Woodinville

Helene Welch of Woodinville

Kristin Wucherer of Woodinville

The students qualified for the academic honors society by maintaining a grade point average of at least 3.75 during the semester.

Derek Thompson of Woodinville and Valeri Tran of Bothell were named to the fall 2013 honor roll at Spokane Community College.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter