Applause - April 21, 2014

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Northshore seniors named 2014 Washington Scholars
The Washington Student Achievement Council named Jacob Straus of Bothell High School and Erika Sun and Stuart Wang of Inglemoor High School Washington Scholars for Legislative District #1. Inglemoor’s Emily Sokol was named Washington Scholar-Alternate for Legislative District #45.

The Washington Scholar and alternate status do not provide a monetary award, however the designation remains a prestigious recognition for some of the state’s most exemplary high school students and a valuable asset in securing other educational scholarships during their college career.

Local students awarded prestigious Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange scholarship
Lucas Ekstrom and Joshua Gray of Woodinville have been awarded a scholarship for the 2014/2015 academic year and will join a group of 50 American high school students sponsored by ASSE International Student Exchange Programs who will live with a host family and attend high school in Germany for one academic year.

Students and families interested in receiving more information about hosting a Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange Scholarship winner from Germany or other ASSE International Student Exchange Programs should visit ASSE’s website at

Local student receives scholarships from WSU
Erin Osgood has been awarded a $1,000 Washington State Broadcasters Scholarship by the Edward R. Murrow College at Washington State University. Students receiving this award must be in good academic standing and involved in extracurricular activities related to broadcasting.
Osgood graduated from Woodinville High School in 2012 and plans to graduate from WSU with a bachelor’s degree in communications in 2016. She was a WSU Regents Scholar and has been listed on the president’s honor roll.

Osgood is the daughter of Kimberly and Timothy Osgood of Woodinville.

Area residents named to dean’s list at Biola University
The following local residents were among 1,594 students named to Biola University’s fall 2013 dean’s list for academic excellence: Brian Ancell of Woodinville, Lauren Anderson of Bothell, Bryce Hummel of Woodinville, Katelyn Larson of Bothell, and Sarabeth Mullins of Bothell.
Biola students are placed on the deans’ list to honor those with a grade point average of 3.6 or higher while enrolled in twelve of more credit units and whose cumulative grade point average is at least a 3.2. This past fall, 25 percent of Biola students achieved this academic goal.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter