Applause: Week of 3/21/16

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

dean’s award

Cameron Pauly of Bothell, a anthropology major in the Colgate University class of 2019, has earned the dean’s award for academic excellence for the fall 2015 semester.

dean’s List

Several local residents made the academic dean’s list at Azusa Pacific University for a fall 2015.

Mackenzie Miller of Bothell
Amy Patterson of Bothell
Duncan Shaffer of Woodinville


Foster Wisman of Kenmore graduated from Rochester Institute of Technology in the fall 2015 semester with a degree in marketing (bachelor of science).

Honorary Vintner


(Photo courtesy of Mark B. Bauschke)

The Auction of Washington Wines is pleased to announce Mike Januik, founder of Januik Winery in Woodinville, is honorary vintner for its 29th annual weekend of events Aug. 18-20.
With literally hundreds of 90+ ratings to his credit, Januik’s wines have appeared on Wine Spectator’s prestigious “Top 100” list a dozen times, and in 2011, Wine & Spirits magazine named Januik “Winery of the Year.” He has also mentored countless rising Washington winemakers.

Powerlifting Record

IMG 20160312

Ian Tsang, a sophomore varsity wrestler for Woodinville High School, broke the state deadlift record, for the powerlifting organization World Association of Benchers and Deadlifters, at the North American Bench Press and Deadlift Championship in Portland the weekend of March 12.



Applause: Week of 3/14/16

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Aerospace Scholars

Eight Inglemoor High School students are among 173 high school juniors taking part in Phase One of the 2015-16 Washington Aerospace Scholars (WAS) program: Preston Duffield, Apurva Gavali, Athil George, Seong Hong, Frederick Huyan, Grace Kim, Jake Millman and Jason Zhu.
WAS is a two-part program focused on topics related to the history and future exploration of space by NASA and topics in earth and space science. Phase One is a five-month distance-learning course designed in partnership with NASA and the University of Washington, which provides students the opportunity to earn five college credits.

Read more ...

Applause: Week of 3/7/16

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Baseball award

ViTL Nutrition in Woodinville, owned by Scott Littlefield and Susan Lewis, won the “Best of Show” award (by Collegiate Baseball Newspaper) for the 2016 American Baseball Coaches Association annual convention for their online and mobile app, the Baseball Nutrition Institute.

Read more ...

Applause: Week of 02/29/16

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Woodinville High School junior Fraser Welsford is the lucky recipient of a trip to Disney World thanks to his philanthropy and gaming skills. Welsford played video games for 24 hours straight accompanied by a live feed as part of Extra Life’s annual gaming marathon, which benefits Children’s Miracle Network hospitals. Welsford raised over $500 for Seattle Children’s Hospital.

Read more ...

Applause: Week of 02/22/16

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Dean’s List

Kristen Leigh Wagner of Woodinville was named to the dean’s list at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles.

Jacob Luplow of Bothell was one of over 200 Cornell College students named to the dean’s list for the fall 2015 semester.

Read more ...