Applause - February 6, 2017

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Dean’s List
Polytechnic Institute.
Xandria Korn,  Woodinville
Basak Soylu, Bothell

Taylor L. Bingea

Azusa Pacific University
Franklin Graves, Woodinville
Emily Lima, Bothell
Kelly Luxem, Bothell
Taylor Meckley, Woodinville
Harriella See, Bothell
Duncan Shaffer, Woodinville

University of New Hampshire
Ali McAllister-Day, Bothell

The Citadel South Carolina Corps of Cadets
Marcus Harbol of Bothell

Rachel Rolling

Texas A&M University
Madeline N. Aghamalian, of Woodinville, with a bachelor of science degree in animal science
Michael A. James, of Woodinville, with a bachelor of science degree in aerospace engineering

“Leota Jr High 8th grader, Salvatore Collora, and his SnoKing Bantam A1 team (head coach, Ron Ortloff & asst. coach, Jim Klenk) became the first Seattle U14 Tier 1 hockey team to win the Canadian PCAHA Bantam Flight 2 Hockey Division Banner. Although no American team is allowed to compete in the playoff run, SnoKing Bantam A1 will focus on winning the upcoming Wash. state championship in March and represents Wash. to attend the National championship in Fort Lauderdale, FL in April. The team has been traveling weekly to Vancouver, BC between September to March to compete in the PCAHA League in the Lower Mainland Vancouver BC area. This is quite an accomplishment for Seattle youth hockey.”

NCAA Letter of Intent Signing Celebration

WHS Letters of IntentEmily Falla - Soccer – University of Redlands; Gabby Whalen - Basketball – Smith College; Bryce Coyne - Baseball – Occidental College; Lauren Knapik - Soccer – Cal Poly Pomona; Skylar Hein - Softball – St. Lawrence University; Rachael Davis - Equestrian – Baylor University; Mack Minnehan - Football – Colorado School of Mines

“NCAA Letter of Intent Signing Celebration” held February 1, at WHS where seven WHS student-athletes were honored alongside their families, coaches and peers.

January Student of the Month

January Chamber Student of the MonthPhoto courtesy of Photography by Carol Hook.

The Woodinville Chamber was pleased to honor our January Student of the Month, sponsored by the Northshore Schools Foundation. This month’s featured student was Aidan Gertz, a senior at Woodinville High School. Pictured here: Glenda Gertz (Aidan’s Mother), Teri Foose (Northshore Schools Foundation), Josh Butchart (Woodinville High School), Aidan Gertz (January Student of the Month), Dave Witt (Woodinville Chamber), Carmin Dalziel (Northshore Schools Foundation).

5th Grade Woodinville team Wins Glacier Peak Basketball tournament


Woodinville Falcons Select 5th Grade Basketball Team wins Glacier Peak MLK Tournament (5th Grade Champions)

Applause - January 30, 2017

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

In the fall 2016 semester, Andrew Hastings of Woodinville made the dean’s list at Drury University, Springfield, MO.

Emiley Melillo, a resident of Kenmore, has been named to the fall 2016 dean’s list at Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.

Wheaton College student Kayla Roberson of Woodinville was named Swimmer of the Week by the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin.
At a recent quad meet against Hope College, Lake Forest College and Kalamazoo College, Roberson set a new meet record by winning the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:10.28. She also won the 200-yard breaststroke in a time of 2:26.11.

Applause - January 23, 2017

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Bothell resident Casey Dosch graduates from Azusa Pacific

Woodinville resident Brandon May earned a degree from George Fox University

Honor student

The following students were named to the dean’s list at Baylor University this fall. 
Meghan J McCahill, Hankamer School of Business

DEAN’s list

Local students were among those who earned dean’s list recognition at George Fox University for the fall 2016 semester.
 Kimberly Frost, senior, elementary education
 Jackie Hirai, sophomore, nursing

Julie Pelan, a graduate of Woodinville High School class of 2013, has made the dean’s list at Northern Arizona University for the second year in a row. Her parents, Jeff and Gale Pelan and grandparents, Sam and Betty Rubin live near Radar Lake in Woodinville.

Cornell College

Emery Armentrout of Woodinville has been admitted to Cornell College for the fall 2017 semester.

Sara Solum Hayashi to receive 16th annual ‘McMaster Heritage Award’ for Kenmore community service

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

KENMORE – Sara Solum Hayashi, a long-time volunteer and advocate of a wide range of arts programs, has been named winner of the Kenmore Heritage Society’s annual McMaster Heritage Award honoring an individual who has made outstanding volunteer contributions to the Kenmore community. 
“Over the past 17 years, Sara has demonstrated an energetic and sustained commitment to her community, especially its youth,” said Annette Eaton, president of the society. “When a worthwhile project is in need of support and help, Sara is often one of the first to volunteer.”

Read more ...

Applause - January 16, 2017

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Honor Roll
Jared Davis of Bothell was named to the fall 2016 honor roll list at Spokane Falls Community College. To receive honor roll status, students must earn a 3.0 grade point average or higher. The honor roll lists for Graceland University’s 2016 fall term have been announced, and Sarah Slayton of Woodinville, Wash., has been named to the honors list.

Mikaela Gallagher of Woodinville was among some 2,270 students at the University of Alabama who were awarded degrees during winter commencement Saturday, Dec. 10, 2016. Gallagher received a bachelor’s degree.

Dean’s List
Leah Turner, Syracuse University-Whitman School of Management.  Resident of Woodinville.  Graduated from LWHS.
Zachary Paulsen of Woodinville has been named to the Champlain College dean’s list for the fall 2016 semester.

Center for Student Action
Azusa Pacific University students served in ministry through the Center for Student Action during the fall semester.
Duncan Shaffer of Woodinville
Kelly Luxem of Bothell

StoneJake StoneForbes 30 Under 30

Woodinville High School graduate Jake Stone was recognized by Forbes as 30 Under 30 in Sports Industry.
Stone secures strategic digital partnerships with the likes of the NFL, PGA Tour, NASCAR and FOX Sports. Working directly with these partners, he establishes strategies for the monetization of sports rights, distribution platforms and fan engagement tools on web, mobile and virtual reality mediums.



Eastside ViolinLandon HalversonEastside Catholic Sophomore Invited to play violin in the 5th Avenue Theatre’s Rising Star Project, The Pajama Game
Sophomore Landon Halverson from Woodinville has been invited to be a part of the 5th Avenue Theatre’s Rising Star Project, The Pajama Game, as a violinist in the orchestra pit.

This opportunity is offered to 100 select high school students across the state to work with actors and staff while shadowing the 5th Avenue Theatre’s professional production of The Pajama Game. The students will then participate in their own performance of the play on March 17-18.

APP HOCKEYSalvatore ColloraLeota Junior High 8th grader Salvatore Collora, 13, has been nominated and selected by Sno-King Hockey Association to participate in the 2017 Pacific Northwest Amateur Hockey Development Camp which will be held in Wenatchee on January 28 & 29. He has also participated in school track & field, tennis and basketball. A few years ago, after tryouts for Woodinville Select Basketball, he had to make a choice between basketball and ice hockey. He decided to forfeit his spot at the Woodinville Select Basketball travel team because of his true passion for ice hockey.

He is currently playing for Sno-King Bantam A1 team and won 2nd place (out of 12 teams) in Bantam AAA division at the well known 2017 Pat Quinn Classic at Burnaby, British Columbia.