Applause - June 29, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


The following students from Woodinville were named to the Dean’s Academic Honor Roll at Baylor University for the 2015 spring semester:
Allison Elise Brown
Jacob Alexander Jensen
Erin Rachelle Keith
Luke Thomas Richardson
Sarah Simone Richardson

The University of Hartford is pleased to announce Augustine Ardiente of Bothell has been named to its Dean’s List for Spring 2015.

Kristiann Jones of Woodinville is one of 718 students who made the dean’s list at California Lutheran University for the spring semester.

The following local students were named to the spring 2015 Dean’s List at Eastern Washington University.

Devin Fife-Aebischer
Nicole Oswald
Madison Sires
Jennifer Skorpen
Larissa Tufnell

Caitlin Chaussee
Elizabeth Cohrs
Carrie Cutler
Andrea Horsefield
Ashley Horsefield
Todd Raynes
William Song
Alesha Wood
Savannah Youmans

Casandra Bateman
Colby Carson
Kelsey Hummel
Kimberly Jones
Alek Kacmarcik


Clemson University has announced the President’s List for the spring 2015 semester. Benjamin Fox Synoground of Kenmore and Ashley E. Ehlert of Woodinville were named to the President’s List.


Stephen Dumont of Bothell completed his baccalaureate studies at SUNY Oswego, earning a bachelor of arts degree in computer science.

2012 Woodinville High School graduate Kaitlin Siemering graduated summa cum laude from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo with a Bachelor of Science in business administration. In addition to being recognized by the university as an outstanding senior, she received top honors from the Orfalea College of Business. She earned the Academic Excellence and Delta Sigma Pi award for maintaining the highest cumulative grade point average of any senior in the college. She will begin classes at NYU School of Law in August.


Several students from Northshore Junior High participated in the National History Day final competition in College Park, Maryland June 14-18. Julia Owens placed fifth in the competition, the highest finish for an NJH student in this contest, and she won the White House History Award, which comes with a monetary prize.

Other NJH students who participated were Woodinville residents Johnson Kuang and Beatrice Duchastel. Jaeden Burdge and Jerry Cao also qualified for the contest, but were unable to attend.


Marcus Quentin Harbol of Bothell was awarded Gold Stars by The Citadel for earning a grade point ratio of 3.7 or higher during the spring semester of the 2014-15 academic year.

Coaches of the Year

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

CBoyce c1Cathy Boyce  DJBaddeley cDJ Baddeley

Cathy Boyce (Bothell) and DJ Baddeley (Inglemoor) were named 2015 Kingco 4A Boys Track Co-Coaches of the Year.

Applause - June 22, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Woodinville residents Daniel William Bies and McKenzie McManus Horner have earned placement on the Gonzaga University dean’s list for spring semester 2015.

Read more ...

Bastyr University names new president

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

After an extensive nationwide search, Bastyr University selects Charles “Mac” Powell, PhD, as its new president. He will oversee the university’s campuses and clinics located in Washington state and California.

“I’m thrilled and humbled to be named president of Bastyr University,” says Powell. “Bastyr is known both nationally and internationally for its academic excellence in natural medicine and commitment to social justice. I look forward to helping build upon its decades of success.”

Read more ...

Applause - June 15, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Molbak’s Garden & Home in Woodinville announced the promotion of Julie Kouhia to CEO. Kouhia, who joined the company in 2006 as COO, has deep experience leading all aspects of Molbak’s retail operations. Jens Molbak, owner and former CEO, will remain actively involved in the company and will help support Kouhia in new growth initiatives.

Read more ...