Applause - June 2, 2014

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Sara Harris has attended Chrysalis for eight years and will be this year’s graduation speaker.

“I’m excited to extenuate the unparalleled experience a Chrysalis education has provided the class of 2014, and motivate my peers to appreciate the unique skills they have acquired,” she said.
Sarah is graduating with honors and will be attending Connecticut College in the fall.

Cameron Van Til of Redmond participated in Gonzaga University’s graduation exercises during a commencement ceremony held on May 11. Cameron graduated with a bachelor of arts in journalism.

He also earned placement on the Gonzaga University President’s List for spring semester 2014. Students must earn a 3.7 to 4.0 grade-point average to be listed.

Bothell resident Rachel Osteyee was among the nearly 800 students who graduated from Bob Jones University earlier this month. Osteyee graduated with a BFA in studio art.

She was among approximately 1,400 Bob Jones University students named to the spring 2014 dean’s list. To qualify for the dean’s list, students must earn a 3.0 grade point average.

Hannah Ellen Stringer of Woodinville graduated cum laude from Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas on Saturday, May 17. She received a bachelor of science in business administration with majors in accounting and Spanish. Hannah will attend the University of Washington this fall to obtain her masters in accounting.

The following students earned dean’s list honors at George Fox University during the 2014 spring semester.
Michael Boller, Bothell
Jake Hanley, Mill Creek
Justin McClure, Bothell
Daniel Mayeda, Bothell
Paul Donelson, Woodinville
Kimberly Frost, Woodinville


Applause - May 26, 2014

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Bothell High School junior Hannah Hunt will serve as the Washington state DECA Area Three President for the 2014-15 school year. Hunt is an advanced marketing student and has been actively involved in DECA for the past two years.

Read more ...

Applause - May 19, 2014

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

App SchumakerJacob, Jim and Samuel Schumacher. (Photo courtesy of David Johnson)Samuel and Jacob Schumacher, members of Boy Scout Troop 574, Bothell, were awarded the Boy Scouts of America highest honor, the rank of Eagle Scout at a Court of Honor, Sunday, May 4. Samuel and Jacob are the sons of Jim and Katherine Schumacher. Many leaders of the troop were in attendance to honor Samuel and Jacob. Samuel returned the honor of mentor to Cedar Park Pastor Rich Haugo for significant impact in his life. Jacob returned the honor of mentor to both Matt Comstock for his valuable life skills and volunteerism towards Scouting, and to Howard Litterell, owner of H & K Floor Coverings, for his assistance with his Eagle project. In addition to the ceremony, the parents presented both Samuel and Jacob a gift to commemorate the occasion. This gift however, was actually a challenge to continue with the third point of the scout law: “A Scout is Helpful.” Jim and Katherine presented their sons with the “Schumacher Challenge,” a gift of $500 each. Their sons have one year to utilize the funds and their abilities to impact their community in a positive way and report back to those in attendance with how they chose to utilize the funds to impact the community.

Read more ...

Kirkland student chosen as winner for Washington in Doodle 4 Google competition - your turn to vote

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Doodle4GoogleRenaise Kim (right) was honored for her winning Google doodle at an assembly at Lake Washington High School. (Courtesy photo)

A talented Kirkland student could soon have her art on the Google homepage for hundreds of millions to see.  Google announced the 50 state winners in its seventh annual Doodle 4 Google competition, a contest open to K-12 students across the United States to redesign the Google logo inspired by the theme “If I could invent one thing to make the world a better place...”

Read more ...

Lake Washington Tech science instructor recognized for tireless innovation and faculty influence

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

It is a rare educator who earns kudos from students, faculty and the state board. But anyone who knows Lake Washington Institute of Technology science instructor Jo Nelson will tell you that she’s exceptional in every way.

Recently, the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges awarded Jo Nelson the Anna Sue McNeill Assessment, Teaching, and Learning Award, an award to recognize an individual’s contribution to going above and beyond to coach and mentor to grow better students and educators.

Read more ...