Student of the month - May 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

May 2015 Student of the MonthPictured here from left to right are Greg Garat; Erik Tingelstad, Dean of Student Learning; Natalie Gonzales; and Kimberly Ellertson, Director of Marketing for the Woodinville Chamber.

Woodinville Firefighters Benevolent Fund sponsored the May Student of the Month at the Woodinville Chamber’s monthly business luncheon. Natalie Gonzales, an undergrad at Cascadia College, is a pre-nursing student, planning to transfer to a university.

Applause - June 8, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Woodinville High School’s production of “Fiddler on the Roof” received six nominations for 5th Avenue Awards: Outstanding Direction; Outstanding Music Direction; Outstanding Orchestra; Outstanding Scenic Design; Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role (Brandon Gertz) and Outstanding Performance by a Chorus. There were over 100 shows adjudicated, and only eight nominations per category, which means that WHS was in at least the top 7 percent in the state for each category.

Read more ...

Applause - June 1, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


app bothellTrack coach B.J. Dawson, Sarah Stavig, head track coach Cathy Boyce, Shawn Munro, Miles Lockett, Cody Mitchell, head football coach Tom Bainter and football coach Troy Olason. (Photo courtesy of Bothell High School)Four Bothell High School seniors have signed letters of intent to play collegiate sports next year. The signees are:

Sarah Stavig, track, Washington State University
Shawn Munro, football, Western Oregon University
Miles Lockett, football, Western Oregon University
Cody Mitchell, football, Linfield College


Twelve students who are residents of Woodinville will graduate as part of Eastside Catholic School’s Class of 2015. The graduation ceremony will be held Monday, June 8 at 7:30 p.m. at Benaroya Hall in Seattle. The Woodinville residents are:

app eastside cathEastside Catholic School 2015 graduates from Woodinville. From left to right, top: Alexander Reding, Aurelien Boulangeat; middle: Michael Kehoe, Addison Hull, Whitacker Ponti; bottom: Amali Fernando, Danielle Liebl. (Courtesy photo)Daniel Assumpcao
Aurelien Boulangeat
Meridith Calsyn
Amali Fernando
Taylor Holliday
Addison Hull
Michael Keho
Danielle Liebl
Ashley Moschetti
Whitacker Ponti
Alexander Reding
Marissa Secreto


Carl C. Svanevik of Woodinville and Claire E. McCloskey of Kenmore were named to the spring semester 2015 dean’s list at Saint Martin’s University in Lacey, Washington.

Kristiann Jones of Kenmore made the dean’s list at California Lutheran University for the fall semester.

Molly McCloskey of Kenmore was named to the dean’s list of Saint Vincent College in Latrobe, Pennsylvania for the spring 2015 semester. McCloskey is a senior studying biology.

Applause - May 25, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Brian Wolz of Bothell received a master of business and engineering degree at Lehigh University’s spring commencement ceremonies.

Molly Catherine McCloskey of Kenmore earned a B.S. degree in biology, summa cum laude, from Saint Vincent College. She also earned the Award for Academic Excellence in Biology.

Brandon Mikulka of Woodinville graduated from the Heider College of Business with a bachelor of science in business administration during Creighton University’s Commencement ceremonies.

Read more ...

Applause - May 18, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


The following local students from Woodinville made the Seattle Pacific University 2015 winter quarter dean’s list.

Kyle Richard Davies
Eleah Anna Lovell
Paige A. Lovell
Molly R. Stinson
Rebekah Michelle Williams


Bothell resident Maria Savchenko was among the more than 700 students who graduated from Bob Jones University on Friday, May 8. Savchenko graduated with an AS in Christian Ministries.

Meredith G. Peterson of Woodinville graduated from Unity College in Maine, America’s Environmental College, on May 9.

The following students from Woodinville will graduate from Whitman College in Walla Walla, Washington and receive bachelor of arts degrees on May 24.
Megan Bafus
Alissa Becerril
Emily Krause
Julia Saxby

Maryam Abdi of Kenmore has graduated from the University of Evansville with the degree of bachelor of science in theatre.


Northshore Junior High brought 29 students and 18 projects to the 33rd annual Washington State National History Day Contest held Saturday, May 2 at Green River College in Auburn, Washington. NJH had an outstanding day with 11 projects finishing in the top six!
Five NJH students, all with individual projects, placed first or second and will be moving onto the National Contest which will be held in College Park, Maryland, June 14 - 18.

First Place
Julia Owens, Junior Individual Exhibit: “Eleanor Roosevelt and Her Leadership and Legacy in Changing the Role of the First Lady”
Beatrice Duchastel, Junior Individual Documentary: “The Nordstrom Company: A Leader Of The Retail Business Industry”

Second Place
Jaeden Burdge, Junior Individual Performance: “Bloom Where You’re Planted: The Life and Legacy Of Narcissa Prentiss Whitman”
Johnson Kuang, Junior Individual Documentary: “Vannevar Bush: The Man Who May Win or Lose the War”
Jerry Cao, Senior Individual Documentary: “Jascha Heifetz: The Father of Modern Violin Making”


Inglemoor and Woodinville high school Distributive Educational Clubs of America (DECA) teams once again produced impressive results at the 69th annual International Career Development Conference (ICDC) held April 25-28, in Orlando, Florida. Inglemoor students had two first place, one second place and three third place wins. Woodinville students had one first place, one second place and one third place wins.

Northshore’s top results include:

First Place
Camellia Clark, IHS
Logan Dziuk and Ryan Bauman, IHS
Isa Vercelli and Maddie Neubert, WHS

Second Place
Brendan Rigby and Eric Dimitrovich, IHS
Sydney Burke, WHS

Third Place
Ana Osorno and Ruby Li, IHS
Raven Apigo, IHS
Casey Rosen, IHS
Kelcie Urstad, WHS

Top Ten Finishers
Donush Abtah, IHS
Anali Eisman, IHS
Jaclyn Samson, IHS
Saige Danby, IHS
Lauren Vandicort, IHS
Kety Bloch, IHS
Patrick Bi, IHS
Jenny Laing, IHS
Kennedy Bautista-Hernandez, IHS
Hannah Piatok, WHS
Joe Worley and Brian Rutherford, WHS
Jacob Green and Sean Campton, WHS
Nick Fouch and Jordan Todhunter, WHS
Emily Allen, WHS
Lauryn Stafford and Kirann Gable, WHS
Devon Richardson, WHS