Bastyr University names new president

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

After an extensive nationwide search, Bastyr University selects Charles “Mac” Powell, PhD, as its new president. He will oversee the university’s campuses and clinics located in Washington state and California.

“I’m thrilled and humbled to be named president of Bastyr University,” says Powell. “Bastyr is known both nationally and internationally for its academic excellence in natural medicine and commitment to social justice. I look forward to helping build upon its decades of success.”

Read more ...

Applause - June 15, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Molbak’s Garden & Home in Woodinville announced the promotion of Julie Kouhia to CEO. Kouhia, who joined the company in 2006 as COO, has deep experience leading all aspects of Molbak’s retail operations. Jens Molbak, owner and former CEO, will remain actively involved in the company and will help support Kouhia in new growth initiatives.

Read more ...

Student of the month - May 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

May 2015 Student of the MonthPictured here from left to right are Greg Garat; Erik Tingelstad, Dean of Student Learning; Natalie Gonzales; and Kimberly Ellertson, Director of Marketing for the Woodinville Chamber.

Woodinville Firefighters Benevolent Fund sponsored the May Student of the Month at the Woodinville Chamber’s monthly business luncheon. Natalie Gonzales, an undergrad at Cascadia College, is a pre-nursing student, planning to transfer to a university.

Applause - June 8, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Woodinville High School’s production of “Fiddler on the Roof” received six nominations for 5th Avenue Awards: Outstanding Direction; Outstanding Music Direction; Outstanding Orchestra; Outstanding Scenic Design; Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role (Brandon Gertz) and Outstanding Performance by a Chorus. There were over 100 shows adjudicated, and only eight nominations per category, which means that WHS was in at least the top 7 percent in the state for each category.

Read more ...

Applause - June 1, 2015

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


app bothellTrack coach B.J. Dawson, Sarah Stavig, head track coach Cathy Boyce, Shawn Munro, Miles Lockett, Cody Mitchell, head football coach Tom Bainter and football coach Troy Olason. (Photo courtesy of Bothell High School)Four Bothell High School seniors have signed letters of intent to play collegiate sports next year. The signees are:

Sarah Stavig, track, Washington State University
Shawn Munro, football, Western Oregon University
Miles Lockett, football, Western Oregon University
Cody Mitchell, football, Linfield College


Twelve students who are residents of Woodinville will graduate as part of Eastside Catholic School’s Class of 2015. The graduation ceremony will be held Monday, June 8 at 7:30 p.m. at Benaroya Hall in Seattle. The Woodinville residents are:

app eastside cathEastside Catholic School 2015 graduates from Woodinville. From left to right, top: Alexander Reding, Aurelien Boulangeat; middle: Michael Kehoe, Addison Hull, Whitacker Ponti; bottom: Amali Fernando, Danielle Liebl. (Courtesy photo)Daniel Assumpcao
Aurelien Boulangeat
Meridith Calsyn
Amali Fernando
Taylor Holliday
Addison Hull
Michael Keho
Danielle Liebl
Ashley Moschetti
Whitacker Ponti
Alexander Reding
Marissa Secreto


Carl C. Svanevik of Woodinville and Claire E. McCloskey of Kenmore were named to the spring semester 2015 dean’s list at Saint Martin’s University in Lacey, Washington.

Kristiann Jones of Kenmore made the dean’s list at California Lutheran University for the fall semester.

Molly McCloskey of Kenmore was named to the dean’s list of Saint Vincent College in Latrobe, Pennsylvania for the spring 2015 semester. McCloskey is a senior studying biology.