12 Northshore juniors named Washington Aerospace Scholars

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Students to attend residency space program at Museum of Flight

Washington Aerospace Scholars (WAS) announced that 12 Northshore School District juniors were accepted into a six-day summer residency aerospace experience hosted by the Museum of Flight in Seattle.

Over 160 Washington juniors were selected to attend one of four summer residency space program sessions.

The WAS program emphasizes science, technology, engineering and math and encourages students to consider a career in those fields.

Inglemoor High School students attending the summer residency program are Jacky Chan, Tamar Feldman, Rachael Grudt, Sean Halbert, Christopher Hansen, Wenhao Lu, Kira Thurman, Sarah Wang, Lucas Wimmer and Bryant Wong.

Woodinville High School students attending the summer residency program are Shawn Doty and Sei Unno.

Professional engineers, scientists, university students and certificated educators will guide summer residents in designing a human mission to Mars.

Daily exercises include briefings from aerospace professionals, tours of engineering facilities and hands-on engineering challenges involving model rocketry, robotics, landing devices and payload lofting.

Thanks to the Washington Aerospace Scholars Foundation, all expenses, including room and board, are provided at no cost to the participants.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter