Applause - Oct. 17, 2011

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Woodinville High School seniors Sierra Barajas and Rebecca Folsom were recognized by the National Hispanic Recognition Program for their academic achievement. Requirements for recognition include achieving a minimum required PSAT/NMSQT score in their junior year, be of at least one-quarter Hispanic/Latino descent and achieve a grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or higher by the end of their junior year.

Shelby Reynolds, Northshore School District manager for Instructional Technology and Library Services, received the 2011 Supervisor of the Year Award from the Washington Library Media Association (WLMA).

The award is given to an individual who provides outstanding service and support to the library media program to achieve a school’s instructional goals.

Northshore librarians nominated Reynolds for her leadership and support.

The Washington Library Media Association is a volunteer organization that provides networking opportunities and professional support for teacher-librarians, parents, teachers and administrators.

Woodinville High School class of 2007 graduate Lena Seino recently graduated from the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication at Washington State University with a bachelor of arts in communications.  While at WSU she served on the board of directors for the Bookie, did volunteer service in Japan and Germany for two summers as well as in New Orleans her last year at WSU.  She was an active member of Alpha Chi Omega Sorority. Lena  has been accepted to the executive masters of public health program at the University of Washington.

Daniel McNees, a freshman at Biola University and a resident of Kenmore was among 200 students who received the college’s highest scholarship - the President’s scholarship - for the 2011/2012 academic year.

Biola awards incoming freshmen with the President’s scholarship - $9,000 per year for four years - upon their entering the university and meeting the requirements of the scholarship. About 15 percent of this year’s incoming class received this award.

Students are considered for this scholarship upon admission to the University based on their GPA and SAT scores.

The requirements of the scholarship are a GPA of at least 3.10 and a combined SAT score of 1240, both math and English scores.

Berklee College of Music announces that Stevan Rexroat of Bothell has earned placement on the dean’s list for the summer semester of the 2011 academic year.

To be eligible for this honor, a full-time student must achieve a grade point average of 3.4 or above; a part-time student must achieve a grade point average of 3.6 or above.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter