Cedarcrest High School Thespian Society students celebrate an enduring commitment to theater

  • Written by Leanne Christensen, RSD

Back row (L to R): Mrs. Lewis, Leif Henrikson, Laura Lango, Jeremy Hager, John Mogridge, Aaron Shell, Nick Tiffany, Aleah Young, Mackenzie Ward, Nikki Dalton, Synove Carlson. Middle row (L to R): Carly Christensen, Kate Sherman, Shaini Candland, Hailee Johnson, Sarah Corbett, Maddii Gallacci. Front row (L to R): Diedre Greenfield, Kylee Morgan, Evan Eaton. Not pictured: Charlie Chittenden. Courtesy photo.
Congratulations to the 2011/2012 Cedarcrest Thespian Society members.

During their induction ceremony, current members were given impressive  ribbons and pins celebrating their prior contributions to the CHS drama department, and newly inducted members were given their official Thespian certificate and pin as a welcome into this very talented and passionate troupe.

The original Thespian Society was established in 1929 at Fairmont State College in Fairmont, West Virginia. The society was the creation of three talented and zealous educators: Dr. Earl Blank, who was then the director of dramatics at the high school in Casper, Wyoming; Dr. Paul Opp, a member of the college faculty; and Harry Leeper, a teacher at East Fairmont High School.

The educators  named their organization the “National Thespian Society for Thespis  the Greek” who, according to legend, was the first actor.

The guiding principle for this society was a dedication for excellence in theatre arts in secondary schools. Initially, seventy-one schools became charter members of the society and the first national convention and election of officers was held in 1930. From this modest beginning, the organization enjoyed steady growth throughout the years.

Today, the Society has become an international organization with more than one million members and troupes in every state and many foreign countries; sponsoring state, regional, national and international theatre conferences. Its members continue to learn more about the art and craft of theater, perform and see outstanding performances, and audition for  impressive scholarships.

Cedarcrest drama teacher/Thespian Director Michelle Lewis and Thespian Society President Kate Sherman shared the following during the inspiring ceremony:

“The Thespian Society continues to strive to give young adults a place for outstanding theatre where the standards of excellence in theatre arts will be advanced, and to honor students who do theatre well. And it continues to be guided by the principles of its founders: a belief that participation in the arts is an essential means of widening students’ cultural horizons and enriching their lives, and where there is a true commitment to theater.”

Cedarcrest Principal Clarence Lavarias addressed the audience and shared of his admiration and esteem for drama teacher/Thespian Director Michelle Lewis.  Mr. Lavarias also expressed his high regard for the impressive growth, progress and improvement in the CHS drama department under the leadership of Mrs. Lewis and to the enduring commitment of her students.

Congratulations to the 2011/2012 Cedarcrest Thespian Society: Shaini Candland, Sarah Corbett, Maddii Gallacci, Jeremy Hager, Hailee Johnson, John Mogridge, Kylee Morgan, Aaron Shell, Carly Benedict, Leif Henrikson, Laura Lango, Charlie Chittenden, Kate Sherman, Carly Christensen, Diedre Greenfield, Nick Tiffany, Aleah Young, Mackenzie Ward, Evan Eaton, Nikki Dalton and Synove Carlson.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter