Applause - April 23, 2012

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Leslie Greer, an Oregon State University student athlete from Woodinville, will represent OSU women rowers at the NCAA National Career in Sports Forum to be held in Indianapolis June 7-10. The event is an educational forum in which selected student-athletes will learn and explore careers in sports, sports law and sports entertainment with a primary focuses on intercollegiate athletics.

Twelve winning writers and 12 illustrators from around the globe — including Corry Lee of Redmond — were honored during the 28th Annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre April 15. Inspired by a childhood spent reading science fiction, Lee studied physics and applied mathematics in college while sneaking in writing time between classes and research. She went on to complete a PhD in experimental particle physics at Harvard University, taking a six-week break along the way to attend Odyssey, the Fantasy Writing Workshop. Since completing her doctorate in 2011, She has been writing full time while contemplating her next move. Though she still loves big, fundamental physics questions, she’s ready to tackle more applied problems—difficult issues in sustainable energy, perhaps? Until then, she channels her scientific background into her writing. Her current project is a series of novels set in an alternate 1890s where the British Empire teeters on the brink of war with the Russo-Chinese Alliance.

Molly McGrath from Woodinville made the deans list at Rutgers University-Mason Gross School of the Arts in New Jersey for the fall semester of her freshman year.

Yeojin Joo of Lake Forest is among nearly 1,700 students at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln to be recognized April 22 in conjunction with the All-University Honors Convocation.

Joo, a senior in the College of Fine and Performing Arts, was  honored as a superior scholar.Students are recognized at honors convocation for their cumulative academic achievements (as opposed to dean’s list, which is for one semester). Superior scholars are seniors graduating in the 2011-12 academic year who have been recognized at the convocation each year of their enrollment;

Casey Campbell of Woodinville has been awarded a scholarship for the 2012/2013 academic year and will join a group of 50 American high school students sponsored by ASSE International Student Exchange Programs who will live with a host family and attend high school in Germany.

Charles “Chip” Jackson from Shoreline and Lucas Bourne from Mill Creek were members of a Western Washington University team who were recognized internationally for their achievements in the Consortium for Mathematics and Its Applications’ international mathematics modeling competition.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter