National Merit Commended students named locally

scholars The National Merit Scholarship Foundation has designated 19 Northshore seniors as Commended Students.
    The Commended Students scored in the top five percent of all participants who took the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT) last fall.
    They came in just behind the Semifinalists who scored in the top one-half of one percent. (Northshore has 11 National Merit Semifinalists).
    Across the nation, the Foundation designates about 15,000 Semifinalists and 35,000 Commended Students from among the one million students who took the PSAT.
    At Bothell High, the Commended Students are Mathew Alden, Terrell Fox, Jennifer Pace, Kenneth Singer, and John Welch.
    At Inglemoor High, they are Leslie Coughran, Mary Jo Harbert, Adam Hodgin, Nicholas Hunter, Billy Liang, Jehan Moulton, and Ryan Ogliore.
    At Woodinville High, they are Guy Armfield, Eric Fjellanger, Mina Hochberg, Diane Mahlum, Christopher Melary, Annie Nick, and Brian Snydsman.
    In addition, Bothell High senior Lara Macon-Lovelace has been cited by the National Achievement Scholarship Program for Outstanding Negro Students. She was selected on the basis of her PSAT score.