Local News

Woodinville recognizes 'Firefighters of the Year'


From left (front row) are Deputy Fire Chief Steve Smith, Fire Commissioner David Callon, Greg Garat, Commission Chair Susan Dickson, and Chief Jim Davis; (back row) Commissioner Ben May, George Moorhead, newly-promoted Lt. Steven Cooke, Commissioner Don Leggett, and Commissioner Jim O'Dell.
Photo by Jeff Switzer/Woodinville Weekly.

firefighters recognized by Jeff Switzer
The Woodinville Fire and Life Safety District recently recognized two outstanding firefighters for their commitment, dedication, and efforts above and beyond the call of duty.
   George Moorhead was selected Woodinville Firefighter of the Year. A volunteer firefighter joining in 1986, Moorhead became a senior firefighter in 1987. He recently visited California and returned with several training exercises he has since passed on to other members of the department.
   Greg Garat was selected as the Woodinville Support Firefighter of the Year. A 1991 Woodinville High graduate, Garat has served in the volunteer/support area of the fire district for four years. Garat has been involved with the district's Explorer Scout program, the Family Fun Festival, "Give Burns the Boot" fundraiser, and benefit duck races.
   Nominations for the awards were sent throughout the department, after which the management team made the choices based on the nominations.