nwnews-now : local news in your e-mail box as it happens


Northshore recognizes students for excellence and achievement

students recognized More than 50 students were recognized by the Northshore School Board May 28 for distinctive performance and excellence in specific fields.
   Those earning recognition:

National Merit Scholars
Bothell High
   Chara Rydzak received a Tandy Technology Award for excellence in science and math, a Certificate of Merit from the Society of Women Engineers, and a scholarship from Stanford University.

Woodinville High
   Lisken Neilson will attend Brigham Young University where she has received an academic scholarship.
   Paul Stephano plans to attend Harvard University and study biology. He received the Masons' Oustanding Junior Award, is a Washington scholar, and is the recipient of a Harvard Faculty Scholarship Award. Ryan Velo-Simpson plans to study political science and economics. He is a Boeing Corporate Award Winner.

Inglemoor High
   Robi Ganguly placed nationally as a Tae Kwon Do participant and traveled to Japan as a Seafair Ambassador.
   Jacob Herbig plans to attend Reed College. He is a member of a Greenlake crew team and an avid biker.
   William Hiestand plans to study engineering at Cal Tech.
   Janelle Jarboe will study math at Harvey Mudd College where she received a scholarship. She also received scholarships from Concordia College and Vassar.
   Kumar Narayanan, ASB president, received a Washington Scholar and C.P. Johnson Award, and is the YMCA's Volunteer of the Year. He will attend Stanford.
   Paul Snow, an Eagle Scout, won a National Merit Scholarship to Brigham Young University.
   Lisa Weaver is the recipient of a merit scholarship from the Weyerhaeuser Company Foundation.
   Carlos Moreno was commended by the National Merit Corporation in the National Hispanic Scholar Program. He plans to study education at UW.

Washington Scholars
Bothell High
   Jennifer Pace was a Coca-Cola semifinalist and received a scholarship from Columbia University.
   Gautam Venkatesan won a silver medal in the science, business, and technology category in the Discover Card Tribute Award Program and the Asher Lodge "Frank W. Anderson" Scholarship. He was cited by USA Today as one of two students in the state and one of 129 nationwide as an "All-USA Academic All-Star." He is a winner of the C.P. Johnson and Martin Luther King, Jr. awards.
   Matthew Carter won Merit Scholarships from Western Washington and Whitman College.

General Scholarships
Bothell High
   Kevin Kralman received scholarships from UPS and PLU.
   Kristin Lanier has received a Presidential Scholarship for academics from Oberlin College where she will study equinine science.
   Kyle Vixie received both a UW alumni scholarship and a Bothell High Alumni Scholarship.

Inglemoor High
   Jed Barden received a Dean's Scholarship from Gonzaga University.
   Matthew Flugstad won a Presidential Scholarship to Westmont College as well as a Dean's Scholarship to Seattle Pacific University.
   Michael Litke has been awarded a Northshore Youth Soccer Scholarship, a NEOPA Scholarship from Inglemoor, and a merit scholarship from Whitman College. With Honors at Entrance, Michael plans to attend Whitman.
   Alec McNayr won three scholarships from Pepperdine University.

Military Academy Appointments
Inglemoor High
   Ryan Hopkins received a U.S. Merchant Marine Academy appointment.

Woodinville High
   Christopher Melary received a Congressional Appointment to the United States Military Academy at West Point.
   Christy Mackey has earned a multiple-year ROTC scholarship and has received a Presidential Scholarship from UPS.

Bothell High
   Sarah Raynor has received a full scholarship for basketball to the University of San Francisco.

Inglemoor High
   Curt Armstrong received a wrestling scholarship from Cornell University where he will attend the Agricultural and Life Sciences School.
   Kyla King received both a soccer scholarship and a Leadership Scholarship from Gonzaga University where she plans to study elementary education.

Woodinville High
   Dana Kimble received a four-year soccer scholarship to the University of Montana.
   Kelly Melton received a four-year crew scholarship to Washington State University.

Bothell High
   Sara Murray received a Trustees Scholarship and Honors at Entrance at University of Puget Sound.
   Jamie Johnstone won a full music scholarship at University of Arizona.

Woodinville High
   Guy Armfield placed 1st in the state solo contest on trombone and plans to attend the University of Washington.
   Selina Greso, a 9th grade homeschooler who attends WHS for music, placed 1st in the state solo contest on oboe.
   Curt Cheever is a 9th grade student at Canyon Park Junior High. He won 1st place in the state in keyboard percussion division on the marimba.

Marketing, Business
Bothell High
   Hans Lee was the winner of the Gold Level Chapter Awards Project in the Washington State DECA Conference.

Inglemoor High
   Brandon Lahti, Erin Bell, and Holly Sheriff produced a fundraising activity which they submitted to DECA as a "Learn and Earn Project." Their project was selected 5th best in the state.

Woodinville High
   Amy Addams took 1st place overall in Retail Merchandise in the area and received 1st place in the Washington State Thespian Festival in one-act comic scene cutting.
   Jill Gregson placed 2nd overall in the state DECA competition, won a medal in the semifinals at National and received a WAVE Scholarship.
   Jamie Meyer was a National DECA competitor in Finance and Credit and a 2nd place winner in the state.
   Jeff Richards is a second time national participant in DECA. This year, he won 1st place overall in the state in Apparel and Accessories and qualified for the semifinals at Nationals, where he received a medal.
   Kurt Ahlstrand won second place in the state in Business Procedures. He will compete in the National Conference in Washington D.C. in July.

Health Occupations
Bothell High
   Melissa Best has been awarded a renewable UW Alumni Association Scholarship.
   Jenny Zorin received a renewable Provost Scholar Award from Seattle Pacific.

Inglemoor High
   Sarah Kyles is a WAVE Scholarship Award winner. She also won awards from the Inglewood Presbytarian Church and Northshore PTA.

Woodinville High
   Katie Joy Accola is a WAVE Scholarship Award winner, planning to enter either Western or Central Washington University.
   Elizabeth Malia Schmied has received two scholarships to Washington State University, a Presidential Scholarship, and a scholarship for swimming.

Auto Technology
Bothell High
   Kevin Hackney placed second in the state in Action Skills, a 5-7 minute demonstration of a skill mastered as part of the technical training program.

Woodinville High
   Leo Little, a junior, placed 1st in Auto Maintenance Competition at the Universal Technical Institute in Phoenix, Arizona.

Graphics Program
Bothell High
   John Bailey won 2nd place at the VICA State Skill Olympics for Graphics Arts. He plans to study art and graphics at Shoreline Community College before entering the University of Washingon.

Secondary Alternative School
   Robert Ranard has successfully completed the rigorous Metal Fabrication and Welding Technology program.
   Corie Nolte has been awarded two scholarships to pursue her interest in cosmetology at Lake Washington Technical College.