The Edwards Agency


National Merit Commended Students named

National Merit Commended Students The National Merit Scholarship Foundation has designated 21 Northshore seniors as 1997 Commended Students, in addition to the previously-announced eight National Merit Semifinalists.
   Across the nation, the Foundation designates about 15,000 Semifinalists and 35,000 Commended Students from among the one million students who take the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test during their junior year.
   At Bothell High, the Commended Students are Jason Dunaway, Stephanie Gray, Srida Joisa, Katie McNerney, Christopher Mertens, and Lesley Wells.
   At Inglemoor High, they are Sonseeahray Buckley, Matthew Cosand, Heidi Lauer, Thomas Robertson, Ashutosh Somani, Daniel Strothman, and Sahbe Zadeh.
   At Woodinville High, they include Rodney Anderson, Shelby Anderson, Matthew Brobak, Margaret Campbell, Kimberly Cozzetto, Jessica Duthie, Aaron Erickson, and Gina Franzese.
   From Overlake School, juniors placing in the top 5 percent included Brady Dillon of Bothell and Robert Long of Woodinville.
   From Chrysalis School, Wendy Ashmon was named a Commended Student and Katie Davis was named a semifinalist.