The Edwards Agency


Selection narrows names for new junior high in Woodinville

Elementary Schools feeders to shift

new junior high by Jeff Switzer
WOODINVILLE--Junior High No. 6, located east of Avondale on Woodinville-Duvall Road, will likely be named Timbercrest, Maple Ridge (or Mapleridge), Paradise, or Adzalus, a Native American term meaning "pretty place."
   The naming committee, made up of area residents and officials, narrowed the field down from more than 200 nominations. A parallel process taking place at the Boundary Committee has been defining which schools will feed to which junior highs.
   The status quo splits Woodin Elementary between Leota and Canyon Park, which then splits between Bothell and Woodinville High Schools. Leota currently draws from Bear Creek, Cottage Lake, East Ridge, and Wellington Elementaries. Arrowhead, Shelton View, Kokanee, and Moorlands all are split up into separate junior highs, as well.
   The preliminary new proposal would feed Hollywood Hill, Wellington, and Woodin to Leota; Bear Creek, Cottage Lake, and Eastridge would go to the new junior high. The only school to be split into more than one junior high school would be Arrowhead. The philosophies turn on whether or not to separate, or split up, certain ele-mentaries as they feed into junior highs.
   The next meeting on boundaries is Nov. 26 in the Ricketts Auditorium at 6:30 p.m., with a preliminary presentation scheduled for Dec. 10. The new junior high school is slated to open in fall 1997.

Current feeder structure:
   Bothell High: Canyon Park JH (Frank Love, Maywood Hills, Shelton View, Westhill, Woodin, Kokanee); Skyview (Canyon Creek, Crystal Springs, Fernwood, Kokanee, Shelton View).
   Inglemoor High: Kenmore JH (Arrowhead, Kenmore, Lockwood, Moorlands, Shelton View); Northshore (Hollywood Hill, Moorlands, Woodmoor, Sunrise, Arrowhead).
   Woodinville High: Leota (Bear Creek, Cottage Lake, East Ridge, Wellington, Woodin); Canyon Park JH (Woodin); Northshore (Hollywood Hill).

New proposal:
   Bothell High: Canyon Park (Frank Love, Kokanee, Maywood Hills, Westhill); Skyview (Canyon Creek, Crystal Springs, Fernwood).
   Inglemoor High: Kenmore JH (Kenmore, Lockwood, Shelton View, Arrowhead); North-shore (Arrowhead (Carlyle), Moorlands, Woodmoor, Sunrise).
   Woodinville High: Leota (Hollywood Hill, Wellington, Kokanee); New Junior High (Bear Creek, Cottage Lake, Eastridge).