APRIL 14, 1997

 woodinville.com : your home town on the world wide web


school news

More school news

SEPAC meeting scheduled

   Northshore School District's Special Education Parents' Advisory Council meets April 23, 7-8:30 p.m., at Ricketts auditorium in Bothell. Parents can learn about the organization. Call 489-6311 by noon April 23 for childcare.

National Merit finalists

   The National Merit Scholarship Foundation has named eight Northshore seniors as National Merit finalists. The finalists represent fewer than 1/2 of one percent of each state's graduating class. Those named from Bothell High School are Elisabeth Howard and Marc Teplin. Finalists from Inglemoor include Rupa Raman, Ryan Riddle, and Sai Samant. Woodinville High finalists are Michelle Ip, Laurel Koons, and Christopher Yorks.

East Ridge teams score at Olympiad

   All of the five teams at the Math Olympiad from East Ridge Elementary finished in either the top third or top half. Members of the East Ridge teams included sixth graders Ty Emch, Margaret Frazier, Jay Strode, Andriana Young, Ryan Griffith, Reagan Runyon, Jeff Stanislawski, Jon Tannesen, Joanna deMars, Mitchell Harris, Tyler Harris, and Katie Peet-Walker. Fifth graders were Michelle DiGiacomo, Andrew Frazier, Bily Jessen, Chris Bolander, Amanda Pugmire, David Couvrette, Jeff Acomb, and Michael Boroughs.

Mathletes win

   Northshore Jr. High mathletes who placed in the "Top 15" at MATHCOUNTS were: Erin MacKintosh, 9th place, and Kenny Walden in 10th. The team finished 7th at the event.

BHS yearbook recognized

   The 1996 Bothell High School yearbook has received an Award of Excellence. The Bothell Yearbook was edited by Ayana Earlichman and Sarah Axely, and the advisor was Dan Bunten. Yearbooks were evaluated for excellence in one or more of these areas: cover design, theme and design, section design, and overall effort.