April 20, 1998


School district staff and supporters win Woodring Awards

    Northshore School District has announced that the following persons have been selected as recipients of the Western Washington University (WWU) "Woodring College of Education Professional Excellence" awards. They will be honored at WWU on May 9. The award winners are: Karen Fineide for Special Education (Coordinator of Northshore's Home School), Barbara Cothern for Professional and Business Community, Geoff Gilmore for High School Teacher (Inglemoor High School), David Dwyer for Jr. High Teacher (Northshore Junior High), Janet Shannon for Elementary Teacher (East Ridge), and Debbie Amble for Parent Volunteer.
   Criteria for selection includes: meeting high standards of their profession, effort to make a contribution to the larger professional community, effort to remain professionally current, the development and implementation of an exemplary program, heightened social awareness of critical issues facing education, and significant contribution to the improvement of education at the school, district, or state level.