Northwest NEWS

September 14, 1998


BPW awards scholarships to three local women

   The Woodinville Business and Professional Women's Organization (BPW) presented $750 scholarships to three women at their July meeting held at the Wyndham Gardens Hotel in Bothell.
   The recipients of the Serena Willers Emerging Woman's Scholarships are Shallon E. Tagg of Snohomish and Deborah A. Jacobsen of Woodinville. Amy H. Orff of Lynnwood was the recipient of the Joyce R. Kelly Enrichment Scholarship.
   The scholarship process includes submission of an application, interviews and final selection of the recipients. Woodinville BPW has awarded $8250 in scholarships since 1988 to help women achieve their educational goals. Awards are given based on fund-raising activities.
   BPW is a national organization since 1919; its mission is to achieve equity for all women in the workplace through advocacy, education and information.
   Woodinville BPW meets the second Monday of each month from 6-9 p.m. at the Wyndham Garden Hotel in Bothell. Programs are centered around personal, professional and political growth and awareness.
   Contact membership chair, Robyn Whitaker at (425)483-3659 for BPW membership, scholarship and future program information.