Northwest NEWS

October 5, 1998


Northshore Commended Students

   The National Merit Scholarship Foundation has designated 26 Northshore seniors as 1999 Commended Students, in addition to the previously announced 10 National Merit Semifinalists.
   Across the nation, the Foundation designates about 15,00 Semifinalists and 34,500 Commended Students from among the one million students who take the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude test during their junior year.
   Commended Students do not continue in competition for finalist status and the 6,000 National Merit Scholarships, but they are considered for other scholarships because of their exceptional academic promise. Commended Students are in the top five percent of the nation's high school seniors, based on their PSAT scores.
   At Bothell High,the Commended Students are Lara Cardon, Dmitry Gorn, Blake Herbison, Sarah King, Allyssa Lamb, Annmarie McDonald, Nicholas Olson, Christopher Pearson, Michael Strasser and Jared Wilkin.
   At Inglemoor High,they are Jesse Allum, Katherine Burke, Neoma Crapo, Lauren Glas, Richelle Harbert, Jasmine Marwaha, Paige Nelson, Kenneth Swehla, Marcel Tam, Nuanh Tran, and Alpana Waghmare.
   At Woodinville High,they include Christopher Green, Clairessa Harris, Megan Johnson, Sean Kellog andEric Palmer.