Northwest NEWS

February 8, 1999


Spectre '87-2 boys take District III title

Spectre '87-2

Spectre '87-2 team members are (left to right)--Back row: Caleb Hustedt, Myles Larson, Matt Workhoven, Collin Sarchin, Bret Uhrich, coach Lori Stengrund, Tyler Coffey, Brandon Heath, Stuart Kenney, Ian Johnson. Front row: Evan Erickson, Jordan Stengrund, Michael Wagner, Matt Thomas, Jesse Cordova, Tyler Person, Danny Styrlund. Not pictured: assistant coach Randy Erickson.

   Spectre '87-2 U-12 boys, a first-year select team from the Northshore Youth Soccer Association, capped off a successful 1998 soccer season by finishing in first place and becoming the District III, Gold-Klondike Division champions.

   The team, with a record of 11 wins, 1 loss, and 2 ties, finished with two wins and two ties ahead of the second-place team. The boys also took second place at the Tumwater Kick in the Grass Tournament in July and again in August at the Snohomish Bigfoot Tournament.

   The team is made up of boys from the Woodinville/Bothell/Kenmore area. Spectre '87-2 recently played in the Washington State Commissioner's Cup Tournament, defeating Highline Heat '87, 6-0, and Monroe Extreme, 5-0, to advance through the preliminary round to the elimination round.

   The team is coached by Lori Stengrund.