Northwest NEWS

May 17, 1999


Humanitarian winners recognized

   Two students from each elementary, junior high, and high school in Northshore were recognized May 11 with C.P. Johnson Humanitarian Awards at the Northshore School Board Meeting at the W.A. Anderson cafeteria in Bothell. The recipients were selected by their fellow students and the school faculty as those who best exemplify humanitarian qualities.

   The school district promotes the concept of humanitarianism among its students through these annual awards established in 1988 in memory of Clifford Paul Johnson. He was a longtime resident of Bothell and served as Coordinator of Minority Studies for the schools until his retirement.

   "C.P. advocated racial and ethnic tolerance and promoted positive human relations," said his widow, Dorothy Johnson of Bothell. "He based his judgment of people on the content of their character rather than the color of their skin."

   The plaques are furnished by the Northshore School Board from the proceeds of a $2,500 award received in 1987 when the board was selected as the first recipient of the Washington State Award for Excellence in Education.

Elementary Schools

   Arrowhead: Nina McMurry, Hollis Crapo. Bear Creek: Rachel Hatlen, Tim King. Canyon Creek: Kristi Bayless, Matthew Johns. Cottage Lake: Ashley Smith, Danny Dayton. Crystal Springs: Michelle Lavesseur, Cory Debardi. East Ridge: Brittany Hammer, Ryan Ceis. Fernwood: Kristin Urban, Tyler McKeon. Frank Love: Elise Ewijk, Tony Andrus. Hollywood Hill: Lisa Gode, Nicky Chou. Kenmore: Haley Kushman, Tiffani Trueman. Kokanee: Phillip Hughes, Luke Lorenzine. Lockwood: Zach Shore, Chelsea Gregersen. Maywood Hills: Tiffany Nicholas, Samuel Saleira. Moorlands: Kirstin Leyh, Amanda Buzard. Shelton View: Rebecca Stombaugh, Corey Hansen. Sunrise: Katie Zagroba, Scott Cherry. Wellington: Ashley Merrill, Jared Ebner. Westhill: Margaret Shipe, Voctor Bjornsson. Woodin: Laceylyn Anderson, Sean Minty. Woodmoor: Chelsea Leahy, Joey Stivala. C.O. Sorenson: Brianne Bresolin, Carl Jensen.

Junior High Schools

   Canyon Park: Mitzi Yerrik, Palmer Weaver. Kenmore: Heather Feig, Connie Penry. Leota: Sheena Gassler, Sean Jones. Northshore: Maureen Driscoll, Patrick McKenna. Skyview: Pearl Martin, Brian Javellana. Timbercrest: Agnes Seong, Matthew Wall.

High Schools

   Bothell: Mirjana Milosjevic, Matthew Jacobsen. Inglemoor: Minal Kide, Ian Little. WAA Anderson/SAS: Sarah Carter, Ricole Jones. Woodinville: Sara Zier, Ryan Perry.