Northwest NEWS

August 30, 1999

Valley Special

CSSV volunteers honored at reception

   At a reception on August 16, volunteers who support Children's Services of Sno-Valley were honored for their dedication and support in the past year.

   Volunteers honored were: Thea Tiryakioglu, Noelle Rollins, and the Snoqualmie Valley Knights of Columbus for their outstanding dedication and service as community volunteers.

   Art Skolnik and Pepper Schwartz were honored as board members of the year. Jane Danforth-Koser, past board president and longtime supporter, was awarded the Herman Schodde Inspirational Award for "embodying the highest ideals of unflagging dedication and commitment."

   "This is our way of thanking the volunteers who support our mission of serving the children and families of the Snoqualmie Valley," said Nancy Whitaker, Interim Director of CSSV. "I know it has been said before, but without volunteers, we simply couldn't do all that we do," she said.

   Also honored at the reception was Joan Sharp, who recently resigned as the agency's executive director. In addition to the recognition for her contribution to the agency, Sharp was presented the King County Council's "Citizen of Recognition Award."