Northwest NEWS

March 27, 2000


You(th) Count! Council finishes second year

   Ten teenagers who either live in or attend school in the 1st Legislative District participated in the You(th) Count Council, a youth-in-government group sponsored by State Sen. Rosemary McAuliffe, D-Bothell, along with the Kenmore Boys & Girls Club. Beginning in January, the council met on a regular basis to learn about the legislative process and how young people can get involved.

   The group chose several pieces of legislation to speak out on this year, including a bill that would create an intermediate driver's license for new teenage drivers. Although they had concerns, they remained very supportive of the legislation which would require additional driving experience before being granted a license, among other provisions. The group tracked the bill through the entire legislative process.

   Other issues the council followed included bills to: allow teenagers to donate bone marrow; create more after-school programs for middle school students; and improve school campus safety.

   The members of the 2000 1st Legislative District You(th) Count! Council are: Emelissa Baluyot, Juanita high School; Ashely Beckett, Bothell High School; Nicholas Carson, Inglemoor High School; Sean Curran, Skyview Junior High; Emily McLeod, Juanita High School; Joanna Minetti, Skyview Junior High; Sarah Nye, Skyview Junior High; Stephanie Pederson, Forest Ridge High School; Christine Pitawanich, Skyview Junior High; and Carl Rugg, Skyview Junior High.