Northwest NEWS

May 8, 2000

Valley Special

Local scholarships available for students

by Tove Burhen

   Seniors at Mount Si, Cedarcrest, and Two Rivers high schools are now filling in their application forms to apply for a local scholarship. Since 1990, the United Snoqualmie Valley Scholarship Foundation has been raising funds for such scholarships by fundraising and by soliciting awards from businesses, civic organizations, and private citizens.

   Last June, 20 local awards were made to graduating seniors at Cedarcrest and 20 to Mount Si High School. The Scholarship Foundation is part of the procedure of offering the awards, standardizing applications, setting up the selection committee, and planning the award night. The Foundation also holds fund-raisers, such as the annual Jazz Night, to create their own award.

   Other groups offering awards include Weyerhaeuser, Nintendo, Optiva, Wilderness Glass, John L. Scott and QFC, PTA's, the Duvall Civic Club, Kiwanis, Fall City Community Association, Duvall Chamber of Commerce, Partners in Prevention, and the Soccer Association. There are also memorials, such as the Rich Duncan Memorial from Valley Community Bank, the Chet Haugan, the Kyle Heyting, the Roberta Hankins, the Donna Polacek, the George Wyrsch, and the Amy Burhen. Each year, however, there are more deserving students than there are awards. Many are in need of financial assistance to continue their plans for a post-secondary education.

   Two new Health Professional Scholarships are being formed by dentists, chiropractors, therapists, and pharmacists in the Duvall-Carnation and the Snoqualmie-North Bend areas. Two deserving students beginning studies in the health professions will be pleased to be recognized and appreciative of the monetary help in starting college work.

   Anyone can help either by giving an award or by contributing any amount to the United Snoqualmie Valley Scholarship Foundation's endowment fund. For more information, call Anthony Smith, 425-788-0287, Sally Cabe, 425-888-1102, or Tove Burhen, past president, at 425-788-1266.