Northwest NEWS

July 3, 2000


More school news

Windermere donates to Woodinville

   Sales associates and staff with Windermere Real Estate's East Group offices, including Woodinville, teamed up with the Windermere Foundation to donate $2,500 to Woodin Elementary School to help students attend a summer school program for low-income and academically low-performing students in grades 1-3.

New president selected for Bastyr University

   Bastyr University's board of trustrees has selected Thomas C. Shepherd, DHS, as its next president. He succeeds founding president, Dr. Joseph E. Pizzorno, Jr., who has retired. Shepherd comes to Bastyr, located in Kenmore, from a 28-year career in health care administration and management. He has served in a consulting or administrative capacity for more than 50 hospitals nationwide. He assumed his duties at Bastyr July 3. His wife and six school-age children will relocate to the Seattle area later this summer.

Garden Club awards scholarship

   Karen DuBose, daughter of Stephen and Denise DuBose of North Bend, has been awarded the Fern Rains Stations Memorial Scholarship of $1,000. This scholarship is awarded annually by the Woodinville Garden Club to qualified applicants who are pursuing educational goals in botany, landscape design, floral design, or environmental programs. Funds for this scholarship are raised in the Club's annual plant sale in May and Garden Tour in July. Karen recently graduated from Bellevue Community College with a degree in Associated Arts & Sciences with Honors. Her GPA was 3.97. She has been accepted to Huxley College of Environmental Studies at Western Washington University for next fall.

New flags fly at Woodmoor

   Brownie Girl Scout Troop #410 hoisted new state and U.S. flags in front of Woodmoor Elementary on June 14th in honor of Flag Day. The troop decided to purchase new flags for the school when they noticed how tattered the old ones were getting. Several classes came out to witness the ceremony performed by the third grade Brownies. The old flags were given to Principal Blake Puckett, who is retiring at the end of the year. Shelley Ewell was flag bearer for the U.S. flag with Katie Jone-Blachowicz, Victoria Meucci, and Laura Murphy as the color guards. For the Washington state flag, Brooks Estes was the flag bearer with Danielle Ferguson and Christina Shigaya as the color guards.