Northwest NEWS

April 2, 2001


Science teams to compete

At the regional Science Olympiad, held March 17 at Everett Community College, the Woodinville High School science team took third place out of 18 teams, thus qualifying for the state tournament to be held April 7 at Eastern Washington University. Team members include:
   Seniors - Yong-Hwa Lee, Greg Davis, Evan Newton, Andrew Fraser, Collin McClure, Nathan Klosterman, Rishelle Gifford, Simon Bennett.
   Juniors - Zack Spencer, Katie Rivard, Diedra Penner.
   Sophomores - Jay Strode, Jeff Stanislawski, Nina Yazvenko, Loren Saunders, Mitchell Harris, Bryan Cattle.
   Gold medal winners at the regional competition included: Katie Rivard (The Wright Stuff), Yong-Hwa Lee and Nina Yazenko (Cell Biology), Greg Davis and Alison Dobrey (Physics Lab), Jeff Stanislawski and Jay Strode (Dynamic Planet and Road Scholar).
   Silver medal winners were: Simon Bennett and Rishelle Gifford (Cell Biology), Loren Saunders, Mitchell Harris, and Steven Lechner (Qualitative Analysis).
   Bronze medal winners: Katie Rivard and Tyler Harris (Astronomy); Katie Rivard (Mission Possible); Jeff Stanislaski and Greg Davis (Data Gathering); Katie R., Zack Spencer and Daniel Nevistic (Experimental Design); Bryan Cattle and Andy Fraser (Science Clue).