Northwest NEWS

July 29, 2002



Teen Battle of the Bands

The Northshore Teen Battle of the Bands was held July 19 at the Woodinville Community Center gym.
   Audience members voted for their favorite band. First place went to Take One for the Team (Bothell) made up of Reed Lengegel, Gavin Phillips, Jake Calvo, and Jim Owens. Second place went to Everyman (Kenmore) made up of Ian Demming, Josh Boris, Stephen Carter, Chris Stephens and Brett Prather. Third place went to Graceful Chaos (Woodinville) made up of Sean Jones, Cary Carlisle, Chase Baldwin, Eric Jelsing, and Shaun Olczk.
   Bands were selected for the event via earlier competitions in Woodinville, and Bothell. The Kenmore band was selected via interview.
   The first place band was awarded a three-song professional demo recording session at the Kirkland Teen Union Building sound studio. Second prize was $5 admission vouchers to the EMP and third place was $40 in gift certificates to Loews Cineplex Theaters.
   Open Mic, offering a local live teen music venue, happens every third Friday of each month. For information, call (425) 398-9327.