Northwest NEWS

September 30, 2002


NSD seniors named Commended Students

The National Merit Scholarship Foundation has designated 39 Northshore seniors as 2003 Commended Students, in addition to the previously announced 11 National Merit Semifinalists.
   Across the nation, the Foundation designates about 16,000 Semifinalists and 34,000 Commended Students from among the more than one million students who take the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude test during their junior year.
   Commended Students do not continue in competition for either Finalist status or the 6,000 National Merit Scholarships, but they are considered for other scholarships because of their exceptional academic promise. Commended Students are in the top five percent of the nation's high school seniors, based on their PSAT scores.
   At Bothell High, the Commended Students are: William Anderson, Andrew Best, Leslie Evans, William Hickman, Joseph Kennedy, Michael Kristian and Anita Shih.
   At Inglemoor High, the Commended Students are: Garrett Allen, Kenneth Bailey, Nicolas Boorman, Matthew Borjeson, Philip Cantrick, Keith Dammer, Christopher Denton, Francie Diep, Curtis Easton, Clay Eaton, Jillian Lang, Heath Luke, Kelsey Maloney, Joe Olson, Lauren Palmer, Brett Prather, Theresa Richards, Emily Scott, Christopher Stephens, Christine Valluzzi, David Wilkerson, Joseph Yencich, and Alex Zielke.
   At Woodinville High, the Commended Students are: Bryan Cattle, Davin Hain, Ben Iseman, Neil Jackson, Ryan Sargent, Christopher Smith, Gerald Strode, Jonathon Walter, and Alex Wilson.