Community News Since 1976
Edition Date: April 17, 2006  


Crime Watch

  Browse The Archives
Search The Archives


Home & Garden
Wine Events



Letters To The Editor
Submit A Letter


Nominations for Woodinville Citizen of the Year being accepted

The person selected as the 2006 Woodinville Citizen of the Year will be following in the footsteps of 15 others whose energy and generosity have contributed a great deal to the quality of life in Woodinville.

Residents and those whose daily lives bring them to greater Woodinville have been asked for nominations by the program’s co-sponsors, the Woodinville Weekly and the Woodinville Rotary Club. (A nomination form is provided below.)

Rotary President Joe Truglio said the goal is to recognize and individual whose work “exemplifies the Rotary motto of ‘service above self’ on behalf of their community.”

The recipient does not necessarily have to be a resident of Woodinville, but whose business or volunteering efforts are focused on greater Woodinville.

Last year, the Rotary club honored Gretchen and John Earley who have devoted more than 25 years managing the Butterfly Thrift Store whose profits support emergency grants for individuals with short-term difficulty meeting rent or utility payments.

The 2006 recipient will be honored at the Rotary installation banquet in June and the club will donate $2,000 in the recipient’s name to a charitable program of their choice.

Woodinville Rotary Club first introduced the Citizen of the Year program in 1990, selecting Glen Kelly and Lee Fletcher-McGookin, both of whom were active in and advocates of foster home care in the community.

The next year Rotary saluted Leigh Richardson for her work organizing the Friends of the Woodinville Library.

In 1995, now retired Woodinville Librarian Don Julien was cited for his work with Woodinville Round Table.

Other recipients include Gretchen Garth and Carol Edwards for their efforts launching Teen Northshore; Al DeYoung for spearheading development of the Evergreen Hospice program and facilities; Nancy Williams Chapman for work with the Center for Abused Women; and city parks and recreation director Lane Youngblood for her inspirational leadership in the campaign to bring about Wilmot Gateway Park.

In 2000, Rotary honored retiring director Marianne LoGerfo for 22 years at the helm of the state’s most vibrant senior services program.

Laina and Egon Molbak were recognized at the club’s 10th anniversary in 1997 for their continual generosity in support of civic programs as well as individual leadership in the city’s development.

Known throughout the area as Mr. and Mrs. Santa Claus, John and Helen McMahon received plaudits for their time devoted to making the holidays sparkle for Woodinville youngsters and

Fran Walster was named top citizen for her near single-handed development of the Maltby Food Bank.

Louise Miller was recognized for her service as a water district commissioner, state legislator and county councilperson while Darylene Dennon went quietly about her way as an activist for causes for the disabled.

“Surely there are others in our community who have contributed to our community in much the same way,” co-chair Jan Runkel of Rotary said. “We’re appealing to the readers of the Weekly and Northlake News to identify them and help us recognize their work on behalf of all of us in Woodinville.”

Forms submitted should include information about the nominee’s activities and be sent to “Citizen of Year,” PO Box 587, Woodinville WA 98072. Deadline is May 30, 2006.



2006 EdPrint, Inc.. All rights reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Archives
Articles may be reproduced, provided is cited as the source.